Detail Of Jeffersons Dvd Review

Nominated for 13 Emmy Awards and 8 Golden Globes, The Jefferson was a groundbreaking sitcom that was not only completely hilarious, but also explored the controversial social issues of its time. Released mid-season in 1975, the show was a spinoff of series number one. 1 All In The Family, where the main characters George and Louise were neighbors of Archie and Edith Bunker. During its nine-season run, the Jeffersons spent everything but their final season as a Nielsen top 25-ranked program. One of the first sitcoms to focus solely on the lives of African Americans, The Jefferson likely featured television’s first interracial married couple in Tom and Helen Willis. It was this fearless attempt to push the boundaries of the status quo that made the show one of the funniest of its time, as well as a valuable asset to American race relations …


The Jefferson follows the lives of George (Sherman Hemsley) and Louise Jefferson (Isabel Sanford), a middle-aged African-American couple who own a number of successful dry cleaners. The fortune generated by their business paves the way for George and Louise to “move in” to an exclusive apartment on Park Avenue. The series is comprised of Hemsley’s portrayal of the stubborn and greedy, but quite lovable, character George, whose sarcasm and antics are only matched by Jefferson’s clever waitress Florence (Marla Gibbs). A supporting cast of ubiquitous neighbors Tom (Franklin Cover) and Helen Willis (Roxie Roker), the always polite Bentley (Paul Benedict), and a doorman named Ralph (Ned Wertimer) provide endless sources of irritation and anger for George. Throw in George’s mother (Zara Cully) and her constant insults to Louise, and The Jefferson becomes one of the best-written comedy shows of its day …

The Jefferson DVD features a number of hilarious episodes, including the premiere of the series “A Friend in Need” in which audiences meet George and Louise Jefferson as they settle into their new Park Avenue apartment. George asks Louise to hire a waitress to run the place, but she refuses because she doesn’t want to be bored. Meanwhile, a new friend of Louise has a hard time believing George can achieve such a level of success without compromising his ethics … Other notable episodes from the first season include “Lionel the Playboy” in which Jefferson’s son begins. , Lionel. enjoying the fruits of George’s labor and discussions about college dropout and “rich man’s disease” in which George is diagnosed with an ulcer, prompting Louise to try to keep him from getting angry, a chore almost impossible …

Below is a list of episodes included on The Jeffersons (Season 1) DVD:

Episode 1 (A Friend in Need) Air Date: 1/18/1975

Episode 2 (George’s Family Tree) Air Date: 1/25/1975

Episode 3 (Louise Feels Useless) Air Date: 01-02-1975

Episode 4 (Lionel the Playboy) Air date: 02-08-1975

Episode 5 (Mr. Piano Man) Air date: 02/15/1975

Episode 6 (George’s Skeleton) Air date: 02/22/1975

Episode 7 (Lionel cries uncle) Air date: 03-01-1975

Episode 8 (Mother Jefferson’s Boyfriend) Air Date: 03/08/1975

Episode 9 (Press Meeting) Broadcast Date: 03/15/1975

Episode 10 (Rich Man’s Disease) Broadcast Date: 03/22/1975

Episode 11 (Former Neighbors) Air date: 03/29/1975

Episode 12 (Like father, like son?) Broadcast date: 04/05/1975

Episode 13 (Jenny’s Low) Broadcast date: 04/12/1975

Leave a Comment